LNS Board Meeting Minutes October 22, 2024 In Person, Studio Green

Attendees

- *Present*: Emily Lines, Nancy Fincke, Jenny Rogers, Kate Brooks, Raleigh Werner, Bridget Healy, Toni O'Connor, Laura Mellen
- Also Present: Sarah Brockway, Paula Hinchliffe

Welcome and Thank You

President: Emily Lines

- 1st meeting of new board structure, focusing on a discussion format
- New members: Bridget, Toni

Start of School Updates

Director: Nancy Fincke

- Extended Day/Stay & Play has successfully moved into Studio Green thanks to lots of help from the community! Wonderful to have the LNS village composed of 5 studios now.
- 'Onboarding' of the four new teachers this year has been going well. They are completing the last step of the process in meetings with Nancy & Sisy this week.
- Wonderful collaboration with visiting artist Ellie Irons who met with all 4 studios working with weeds and creating paint.
- External Professional Development at LNS
 - October 11, Four teachers from Pioneer Valley Regional School visited LNS with the intention of learning more about the environment as the third teacher and play guided by Nancy Fincke.
 - October 15, Twelve Teachers and the director from Hampshire College Early Learning Center participated in a workshop designed by Emily Silet and Nancy Fincke focusing on Place Based Education and Design Thinking
- The LNS tradition, Magical Encounter is secretly being planned for October 30. Thank you to Heather Malakov, Asch Harwood, Jocelyn Adams and Marianna Parker who have volunteered to be puppeteers!
- Thank you to alumni parent Erica Darnell, Interior Designer who selected furniture for the Parent Room!

TTOR Lease Update

President: Emily Lines & Director: Nancy Fincke

- Continued negotiations around the lease
 - Securing studio green was a huge step in this process.
 - Working on a 10 year lease with two 5-year renewal options (20 year total)
 - Negotiating specific terms and may need to seek outside legal support to complete the negotiations
 - Hoping to complete process in next couple of weeks

Board Goals Discussion (see slide deck for details on all of these)

President: Emily Lines

- Execute long term lease with the trustees
- Support the 80th campaign
- Ensure transition to incoming president
- Steering
 - Continue implementation of strategic plan
 - Implement and oversee, assess new board structure
 - Cohesive campus project

Director: Nancy Fincke

- Continue onboarding new faculty members
- Offer professional development to faculty
- Develop and offer conference to NE early childhood educators (March 2025)

VP Development: Kate Brooks

• 80th anniversary campaign (see below)

Budget Treasurer: Raleigh Werner

- Set the school up for sustainable fiscal excellence
- Reformat existing resources
- Connect with larger non-profits for best practices

DEI Chair: Sarah Brockway

- Organize internal resources
- Generate calendar
- Professional development opportunities
- Learning/partnering with other schools

VP Enrollment: Laura Mellen

- Continue to evaluate program changes
- Pllot a toddler group (Friday morning 4-week block in winter/early spring)
- Take new space into consideration in programming

VP Programs: Jenny Rogers

• Joyful school community (as fostered by formal and informal events, both campus and family-led)

80th Anniversary Update

VP Development: Kate Brooks

• 80th anniversary campaign

- Upcoming events: newsletter, conference, 80th gala (will not have a silent or live auction, only a live ask)
- Foci of campaign: Supporting skilled teachers and staff and creating a cohesive campus
 - Talking to landscape design firm and landscape architect (alums) regarding campus plans
- Goal: 300-500K, have 75K already committed

Call for Updates/Questions

Board of Directors 2024-2025

Nancy Fincke, Director (non-voting member) Emily Lines, President Kate Brooks, Vice President of Development Laura Mellen, Vice President of Enrollment Jenny Rogers, Vice President of Programs Raleigh Werner, Budget Treasurer Colleen Bixby, Special Projects Chair Bridget Healy, Welcoming and Social Co-Chair Toni O'Connor, Alumni Representative (non-voting member)